top of page

How I burned my antenna

During tests on my old PA I burned my Mosley TA33JRN trap on the driven element. See here:

The reason for this is that I completely ignored warnings from several people and the producer itself that the antenna DOES NOT stand more than 500W CW. I proved that these warnings are absolutely true. I did not exceed this limit much but still it was enough to burn the trap nicely.

The SWR curve (red) looked like this after the incident:

I had to call the boom truck and take the faulty element down:

To avoid happening this in the future, I ordered an MPK-3 High Power Conversion Kit which should stand some 1500W CW. See how the standard TA33JRN trap compares to the new high power trap:

Now, as of 18th November 2015, I am waiting for the boom truck to come so I can finally install the antenna and start working on the bands again.

bottom of page